Our Team

Stacy Kane

Co-Founder & Executive Director

Stacy has spent much of her career hiring the best talent for technology within the federal government. She has a B.S. and M.P.P. from Vanderbilt University, as well as a J.D. from Emory University. skane@wlapcs.org

Joseph Webb

Founding Principal

Joey has six years teaching experience and is a Teach for America alumni. He has a B.S. from St. Lawrence University, and an M.Ed from the Unviersity of North Carolina. jwebb@wlapcs.org

Natalie Gould

Director of Operations

Natalie has worked with a variety of education-focused nonprofits, including Teach for America and Democracy Prep. She has a B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania. ngould@wlapcs.org

Kalee Barbis

Director of Curriculum & Instruction; Lead English Teacher

Kalee was a Leader U Fellow at Democracy Prep. She has a B.S. from the University of Tennessee, an M.Ed from Lipscomb University, and an M.P.P. from Vanderbilt University. kbarbis@wlapcs.org

Dr. Steve Robinson

Science Teacher & Coordinator

Steve has taught high school for ten years and over eight at the college level. Steve earned his B.A. from Princeton, and his Ph.D in Cellular & Molecular Biology from the University of Michigan. srobinson@wlapcs.org

Jacklyn Doig-Keys

Literacy Studio Teacher

Jackyln taught high school for six years, and developed Democracy Prep’s “Change the World” curriculum. She has a BSc from the University of Bristol, an MSc from the London School of Economics, and an MSt from Fordham University. jkeys@wlapcs.org

Enrique Ramos

World History Teacher

Enrique taught in Hawaii through Teach for America. He earned his BA from University of Maryland, and his MS from Johns Hopkins University. eramos@wlapcs.org

Jordan Budisantoso

Computer Science Teacher & Technology Coordinator

Jordan has taught computer science for four years in Miami, Florida. He earned his B.S. in Computer Information Systems from California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, and also serves as a Captain in the United States Army Reserves. jbudisantoso@wlapcs.org

Anthony Guyton

Dean of Students

Anthony is a former Special Education teacher and college counselor. He has a B.A. from Princeton University, and an M.Ed from Long Island University-Brooklyn. aguyton@wlapcs.org

Britney Corbett

Math Studio Teacher

Britney joins the WLA team after six years of teaching experience. Prior to joining the WLA team, Britney taught higher level mathematics in Virginia. She has a B.S. in Mathematics and a M.A. in Education from Virginia Tech. bcorbett@wlapcs.org

Julia Mackey

Office Manager

Julia has been working in schools on behalf of D.C. kids for over a decade and in customer service roles for almost 30 years. Julia is an expert in school operations and family engagement. jmackey@wlapcs.org

Jaishri Shankar

Math Teacher

Jaishri began her teaching career in Kingstree, South Carolina with Teach for America. She has her B.S. in Biology from University of Maryland and her M.S. in Education from Johns Hopkins University. jshankar@wlapcs.org

Christina Moore

Director of Student Services and Special Education

Christina has taught in the District of Columbia for the past 5 years. She earned her B.A and M.Ed from Niagara University, and is an IEL Educational Policy Alumni. cmoore@wlapcs.org

Adam Browning

Math Studio Teacher

Adam has been teaching math and science Special Education in DC for two years.  Prior to moving to DC in 2014 for the DC Teaching Fellows program, he obtained his M.S.W. from CUNY Lehman in the Bronx, NY and his B.A. in Psychology from SUNY Binghamton. abrowning@wlapcs.org

Shawn Embry

Office Associate

Ms. Embry is currently pursuing a degree in Business Management. She has a strong background in supporting and mentoring today's youth and looks forward to helping all of her students achieve their goals. sembry@wlapcs.org

Kevin Miller

Leadership Education and Development Teacher

Kevin has started companies, nonprofits, and trained entrepreneurs on four continents. He earned his B.A. from NC State University. kmiller@wlapcs.org

Leah Nathan

School Psychologist

Leah is enthusiastic about working with the WLA team, students, and families. She has close to a decade of expertise in psychological intervention and treatment in the DC school system. Leah earned a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology, Forensic specialization from Nova Southeastern University. lnathan@wlapcs.org

Our Board

Seth Andrew

Co-Founder & Chair

Seth previously founded Democracy Prep Public Schools and now serves as a Senior Advisor at the White House. He has an A.B. from Brown University, and an M.Ed from Harvard University. 

Jeanne Allen

Member

Jeanne leads the Center for Education Reform, the nation’s leading advocate for opportunity and innovation in education, which she founded in 1993. She has an MS in education entrepreneurship from the University of Pennsylvania and a BA from Dickinson College.

Beatriz Ceja-Williams

Member

Beatriz is an advocate for high quality educational opportunities for all regardless of zip code.  She is a former elementary educator and graduate of UC Santa Cruz, BA in Sociology and George Washington University, MA in Education and Human Development. 

Duane Rollins

Co-Founder & Vice Chair

Duane is an UX and instructional designer for the federal government and co-founder of STEMLY. He has a BSME from Virginia Tech and a MID from Georgia Tech.

Daniele Schiffman

Secretary

Daniele is a lawyer at Skadden Arps. She received her JD from American University and her Master in Public Policy from Columbia University.  

Miles Taylor

Co-Founder & Treasurer

Miles is the National Security Advisor on the House Homeland Security Committee and previously served in the George W. Bush Administration.  He received his MA in International Relations from Oxford University as a Marshall Scholar and BA from Indiana University as a Truman Scholar.

Courtney Wright

Member

Courtney has worked in a variety of education settings domestically and internationally and currently works with undeserved young adults at an alternative school in DC. She has a B.S in Secondary Education and English from Vanderbilt University and an MA in International Training and Education from American University.

 

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

— Margaret Mead, Cultural Anthropologist